Angered APC Senators List Conditions To Halt Defections To The PDP And Other Parties

About 20 senators elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have outlined conditions to prevent their defections to opposition parties.

Thirteen senators from the All Progressives Congress (APC) have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), and others.

As a result of recent defections, the APC now has 62 senators, while the PDP has 39; NNPP has three; YPP has two; LP has one; and APGA has one.

Some of the senators planning to defect from the ruling party are those who were denied re-election to the National Assembly during the party’s primaries and have received enticing offers from the PDP.


In addition, they asserted that the governors of their respective states manipulated the senatorial primary elections, resulting in their defeat.

In an interview with THISDAY, a senator from the Northwest, speaking on the condition of anonymity, stated that justice and fairness are two of the conditions necessary to prevent their defections.

He stated that the legislators requested immediate intervention from the APC’s leadership in order to limit the authority of state governors.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: