APC Wins All Chairmanship Seats In Ekiti Council Polls


The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates won all 38 chairmanship and 177 councillorship seats in Saturday’s council elections in Ekiti.

The Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC) made the declaration at Ado-Ekiti on Sunday.

Returning Officers in the local government and council development areas took turns presenting the results of the various council areas at the headquarters of EKSIEC.

EKSIEC chairman, retired Justice Cornelius Akintayo, applauded the electorate in Ekiti for the peaceful conduct of the election.

He also commended parties that participated in the election for their sportsmanship, EKSIEC staff who worked on the field, security agents, and the media for a job well done.

Mr Akintayo listed political parties that participated in the election as Action Alliance (AA), Action Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He said others were the Labour Party (LP), the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) and the Zenith Labour Party ZLP.

EKSIEC commissioners and principal officers joined Mr Akintayo at the presentation of the election results.

Prominent opposition parties like the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) had declared their disinterest in the council elections.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *