Appeal Court Removes Last PDP Assembly Member In Plateau

In a significant legal development, the Court of Appeal in Abuja has removed Cornelius Doeyok, the sole remaining People’s Democratic Party (PDP) member in the Plateau State Assembly, representing Quaanpan South constituency.

The unanimous decision, led by Abdu-Azeez Wazi, cited the absence of a party structure as the grounds for Doeyok’s removal, asserting that the PDP lacked the capacity to sponsor any candidate in the election. This ruling also affects the other 15 PDP lawmakers, who have similarly lost their seats to members of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Professor Theodore Bala Maiyaki, of the APC, was declared the winner of the March 18 election for the state constituency seat. The panel not only unseated Doeyok but directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw the certificate of return previously issued to him and instead issue a new certificate to Maiyaki.

This decision means that all 16 PDP lawmakers in the Plateau State Assembly have been ousted, leaving the APC with 22 seats. Additionally, the Labour Party and the Young Peoples Party (YPP) each have one seat in the assembly.

Hon. Moses Thomas Sule, the speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, has tendered his resignation.

Hon. Gwottaon Fom, the deputy speaker, has also tendered his resignation.

Gabriel Dawang, the member for Pankshin North, has been chosen to serve as the new speaker.

The new deputy speaker of the assembly is Hon. Timothy Dantong, who represents the Riyom constituency.

The development may be related to the dismissal of state assembly PDP legislators and governor Caleb Mutfwang, according to sources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *