BREAKING: Court Stops Inauguration of Ondo Local Government Caretaker Committees By Gov Akeredolu


The Ondo State High Court has issued an order restraining Governor Rotimi Akeredolu-led government from inaugurating a Caretaker Committee for Local Government Areas and Local Council Development Areas.

According to Sahara Reporters, the decision comes following a ruling by Justice Yemi Fasanmi, granting an interlocutory injunction sought by the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Thursday.

The court’s injunction prevents the installation of any individual or group as caretaker committee members for local governments or local council development areas until the substantive suit is entirely determined.

The defendants/respondents named in the lawsuit include the Governor of Ondo State, the Ondo State House of Assembly, the Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly, and the Attorney-General of Ondo State.

The development comes on the heels of the Ondo State House of Assembly’s approval of 51 nominees for the Interim Management Committee of the 18 local government areas and local council development areas within the state.

Governor Akeredolu had submitted the list of nominees to the assembly for screening, which subsequently led to their approval during a plenary session on Tuesday.

Some of the individuals purportedly nominated as new caretaker chairmen and their deputies include Mr Tayo Fayanju (Chairman) and Mrs Adewole Busola (Vice Chairman) for Akure North LGA, Mr Ogunniyi Victor (Chairman) and Mrs Dapo Funmi (Vice Chairman) for Igba-Otun LCDA, Gbenga Olaniyi (Chairman) and Adepoju Dapo (Vice Chairman) for Akure South LGA, Smart Omotadowa (Chairman) and Tope Akinfotire (Vice Chairman) for Idanre LGA, Kayode Aroloye (Chairman) and Idowu Adesioye (Vice Chairman) for Idanre Central LCDA, and Gbogiaran Emmanuel (Chairman) and Abiodun Adeyelu (Vice Chairman) for Akoko South South LCDA.

The tenure of the previous local government chairpersons and their vice chairs had expired some months ago.

The newly appointed caretaker chairpersons were expected to hold office until February 2024, when local government elections are scheduled in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *