BREAKING: Ex-Transcorp president, Ozigbo wins PDP Anambra Guber Ticket


The immediate past President and Group CEO of Transcorp Plc, Valentine Ozigbo, on Saturday, June 26, 2021, emerged as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for the Anambra governorship election after winning the party’s primary held at the Prof Dora Akunyili Women Development Center, Awka.

Announcing the results, the head of the electoral panel, His Excellency Philip Shaibu, the Deputy Governor of Edo State, revealed that Ozigbo polled a total of 62 to win the primary.

He led his nearest contender, Dr Obiora Okonkwo, who scored 58 votes and Senator Uche Ekwunife who polled 44 votes.

Of the 16 aspirants who obtained the PDP nomination and declaration of interest forms, 12 aspirants were present at the venue and participated in the voting process.

The Anambra governorship election is billed to hold on Saturday, November 6, 2021.

Meanwhile, Eleven of the 14 governorship aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Anambra have said the June 26 governorship primary in the state did not hold.

Dr George Muoghalu, the spokesperson for the aspirants, made the position of the group known in a press conference on Saturday in Awka.


READ ALSO: 2023 Presidency: Olubadan declares support for Bola Tinubu

Muoghalu said that in all the 326 electoral Wards of the state, people came out, but were disappointed, saying that none of the APC team saddled with the responsibility to conduct the primary and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) officials was seen.

Muoghalu, the Managing Director of National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) and one of the aspirants, said anybody who claimed that there was primary is fraudulent and did not wish APC well in the November 6 election.

Paul Orajiaka and Edozie Madu, both aspirants, corroborated the position of Muoghalu and warned that the era when one man would come up with fake figure to claim victory is over.

The aspirants, however, appealed to the party leadership to come up with a fresh date for the Anambra primary to ensure that the party beat the deadline in the Electoral Act.

Other aspirants at the event were Johnbosco Onunkwo, Ben Etiaba, Amobi Nwaokafor, Chidozie Nwankwo, Geoffo Onyjegbu, Azuka Okwuosa, among others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here