BREAKING: PDP Launches Legal Proceedings against 25 Rivers Lawmakers, Reveals Resolutions



The National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has issued four resolutions following the defection of 25 members of the Rivers State House of Assembly from the party to the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Wednesday, December 13th.

First, the party demanded fresh elections in 25 state constituencies.

The party, in a statement issued by its National Publicity Secretary, Debo Ologunagba, also informed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of the vacancies created by the defectors, citing Section 109 (1)(g) of the Constitution, which states that a “member of a House of Assembly shall vacate his seat in the House if he becomes a member of another political party before the expiration of the period for which he was elected.”

The PDP further demanded that INEC conduct fresh elections within the constitutionally stipulated time, arguing that the defectors have “appropriated” the votes and mandate of the people they were elected to represent.

The party also announced that it has instructed its National Legal Adviser to initiate legal action to ensure the declaration of the defected lawmakers’ seats vacant and pave the way for fresh elections.

According to the statement, the PDP “will take every step necessary and available in a democracy to ensure that the votes and mandate of the people of the 25 State Constituencies in Rivers State are protected and not appropriated under any circumstance whatsoever.”

The defection of the 25 lawmakers, largely loyal to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, preceded the recent demolition of the House of Assembly Complex by Siminalayi Fubara-led Government.

Wike, a former Rivers State Governor, and Fubara are allegedly fighting over the control of the state’s political structure.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *