BREAKING: Tinubu Swears In Three More Ministers

President Bola Tinubu on Monday swore in three additional ministers into his cabinet bringing the total to 48.

Those who took their oath of office on the first council meeting since August 28 are
Jamila Bio Ibrahim, Ayodele Olawande and Balarabe Lawal.

The ceremony came nearly two weeks after the Senate cleared the three of them having screened them on October 4, 2023.

Tinubu had on September 17, 2023, nominated Ibrahim and Olawande as Minister of Youth and Minister of State for Youth, respectively.

He also requested the Senate to screen Balarabe Lawal as minister from Kaduna to replace former Governor Nasir El-Rufai, who was dropped after being screened by the Senate as a ministerial nominee.


Ibrahim, 37, who hails from Kwara State is a medical doctor, politician, development expert and advocate of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

She had previously served as the National President of the APC Young Women Forum.

Olawande, 34, also a community development expert and youth leader in the APC served as the special adviser on innovation to the former president, Muhammadu Buhari, in the office of the vice president Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

Before the commencement of deliberations, FEC observed a minute’s silence in honour of Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun, who passed on July 1, 2023.

Ajose-Adeogun who died at the age of 96 was appointed the Minister of Federal Capital in 1976 by the Murtala Mohammed military regime and served in the position till 1979

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *