Edo 2024: Exodus Defection Hits Labour Party In Ward 7 As Hundreds Of Members Join PDP In Orhionmwon

By Ogiemwonyi Osazuwa

Political Tsunami~ Convinced by the competent, visionary, intellectual, trusted and credible governorship candidates the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, parades for the September 21 gubernatorial election, hundreds of Labour Party, LP, members in Ward 7, Orhionmwon LGA, defied the heavy downpour against all odds to dump their party in favour of the ruling PDP.

Among them are LP, Youth Leader, Comrade Odion Ehigiator, Woman Leader of the party, Mrs Dorca Igun, Former councillorship candidate of the Party, Mc Freedom Ogieva, and other executive members of the Party, alongside hundreds of followers across all the units in the ward.

Speaking at the carnival like-event, the two bigwigs from LP, Comrade Odion Ehigiator and Mc Freedom Ogieva who spoke separately on behalf of the defectors
noted that it was the PDP era that truly brought development to the ward. The duo who tore their LP membership cards to the admiration of all, noted that they are tired of labouring in vain in a party that cannot win the upcoming governorship election, hence their decision to join the winning party, PDP.

On his part, the Director General of Orhionmwon Campaign Council, Pst Monday Igbinigie, who represented Orhionmwon council chairman, Hon Newman Ugiagbe, noted that the Council Chairman was unavoidably absent. He thanked the massive defectors for joining PDP, charging them to join hands with the PDP leaders in the ward to win the ward for PDP with landslide magic. He announced a bounty price-tag for the unit that got the highest vote in Orhionmwon after the election.

In the same vein, member representing Orhionmwon South Constituency at the Edo State House of Assembly, Hon Bright Aiteguoba Iyamu, who received the decampees on behalf of Orhionmwon Council Chairman, congratulated them for making U-turn to join the PDP, adding that they are now full members of the PDP with equal opportunities.

The climax of the event, was the presentation of PDP membership cards and campaign materials to the defectors.

Among other notable PDP leaders on ground to receive the defectors were Former Secretary to Orhionmwon Council Chairman, Mr Henry Okaka, Former leader of Orhionmwon legislative arm, Hon Tony Egharevbe, SA to Orhionmwon Council Chairman, Hon Raphael Osegha, Urhonigbe North PDP Apex leader, Mr Tony Otasowie, Ward Chairman, Mr Festus Ayahi, Former Supervising Councillor, Mr Sabasti Ezekor, Former and current Councillors of the Ward, Dr Influence Osagie and Hon Elizabeth Ehimwenma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *