Fayose Reacts As Makinde’s Arapaja Emerges PDP Southwest Zonal Chairman


Former Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, has congratulated Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja on his emergence as the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, South-West Zonal Chairman.

Arapaja, who is the preferred candidate of the Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, emerged the winner by edging out Dr. Eddy Olafeso, the preferred candidate of Ayo Fayose with a total of 343 votes as against his opponent’s 330 votes on Monday.

Reacting, Fayose, in a tweet via his Twitter handle on Tuesday, wished Arapaja and all the new zonal executives all the best.

Fayose’s tweet read, “I congratulate Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja on his emergence as the Southwest Zonal Chairman of our party, the PDP.

“Like I said in my speech at the beginning of the congress that we should win together and we have indeed won together.

“Whatever may be our reservations on the issue of over-voting, we have chosen to look at the larger picture, which is the PDP.

“We must therefore use our energy and resources to rebuild the party.

“Arapaja’s 343 and Olafeso’s 330 votes, has simply shown strength on the two sides, this should be explored by the party, going forward.


“I thank the National Working Committee (NWC) for helping to bring this congress behind us”.

However, Newsflash Nigeria gathered that a total of 684 delegates were accredited and they all voted. There were however 10 voided votes after counting.

Ekiti – Out of 115 delegates on the list, 104 were accredited and voted.

Lagos – Out of 101 on the list, 90 accredited delegates voted.

Ogun – Out of 114 on the list, 101 were accredited. Voting is ongoing.

Ondo – Out of 113 on the list, 104 were accredited.

Osun – Out of 134 on the list, 111 accredited delegates voted

Oyo – Out of 171 on the list, 165 accredited delegates voted.

Announcing the results, the Deputy Governor of Benue State, Benson Abonu, who is the chairman of the PDP Electoral Committee, declared Arapaja winner of the Chairmanship contest.

Accredited votes – 684

Total votes cast – 674.

Voided votes – 10.

Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja – 343 votes

Eddy Olafeso – 330 votes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here