JUST IN: PDP Insists On Declaring Seats Vacant for 26 Defected Lawmakers


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) maintained on Thursday that the 26 lawmakers from the Rivers House of Assembly, who defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), no longer held membership in the state legislature.

This firm stance was articulated by PDP’s National Legal Adviser, Adeyemi Ajibade, SAN, in a press briefing held shortly after Justice Donatus Okorowo of the Federal High Court, Abuja, adjourned the contentious lawsuit filed by the embattled lawmakers until January 24, 2024.


Despite reported interventions by prominent figures such as President Bola Tinubu in the ongoing dispute between Governor Siminalayi Fubara and FCT Minister Nyesom Wike, Ajibade emphasized that the party’s position rested on adherence to constitutional provisions regarding defection. “As a party, we stand unwaveringly on the side of the country’s constitution,” asserted Ajibade.

“It transcends issues of agreement, as, by the constitution, we are all bound by the oath to uphold its principles.

Both the governor and the president have sworn to uphold the constitution, and I am not against the president calling for the resolution of the matter. He is the chief security officer of this country, with every right to intervene in the issue.”

Ajibade underscored the clarity provided by the country’s constitution, particularly referencing Section 109 (1g), which explicitly addresses issues related to defection. He noted that the affected lawmakers had not denied their decision to defect, reinforcing the party’s conviction in considering their seats vacant. Read also:President Tinubu Unveils Ambitious Re-engineering Plan for Nigeria’s Economic Prosperity

The legal adviser’s remarks shed light on the PDP’s unwavering commitment to constitutional adherence amid a complex political landscape, leaving the fate of the 26 lawmakers in limbo until the court resumes deliberation in January 2024.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *