Mali Affirms Irreversible Exit From ECOWAS, Opposes Visa Introduction

The Foreign Minister of Mali, Abdoulaye Diop has affirmed that his country, along with Burkina Faso and Niger Republic, will not reverse their decision to exit the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), despite gestures of reconciliation from the economic body.

Earlier this year, the military juntas of Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso made an exit from ECOWAS and formed a confederation.

Following this, ECOWAS Heads of State convened in Abuja and appointed Senegal and Togo’s presidents as mediators for dialogue with the Sahel states.


Diop emphasized Mali’s readiness to cooperate with ECOWAS but expressed opposition to the potential imposition of visas for citizens traveling within the bloc. “Our Heads of State were unequivocal in Niamey, stating the withdrawal of the three countries from ECOWAS is final and was executed promptly. We must now focus on the path ahead,” Diop stated.

He further asserted Mali’s willingness to collaborate with neighboring countries and other regional organizations, emphasizing the irreversible nature of their decision.

Diop concluded, “We will continue discussions with others to progress forward, but we believe firmly in the path we have chosen,” the foreign minister said in asserting the determination of Mali to exit ECOWAS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *