NASS Leadership: Opposition Lawmakers Plan To Work Against Akpabio, Abbas


There is a surprising challenge to the All Progressives Congress (APC)’s plans for leadership positions in the upcoming 10th National Assembly.

Elected officials from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Young Peoples Party (YPP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and Social Democratic Party (SDP) are banding together to oppose the APC’s zoning arrangement.

Despite public outrage, the APC announced its candidates for the top four positions in the 10th National Assembly earlier this week.

However, these choices, including Godswill Akpabio as the consensus candidate for Senate President, are being met with opposition from lawmakers-elect who support other candidates.

Barau Jibrin was appointed as the Senate’s Deputy President.

Tajudeen Abass was named the consensus candidate for Speaker of the House of Representatives by the APC’s National Working Committee (NWC).

While Benjamin Kalu of Abia State received the party’s endorsement for the position of Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Notably, senator-elects from the South East and North Central have rejected the APC’s proposed candidates as well as their regions’ exclusion.

A senator from an opposition party that spoke with Saturday Sun said;

APC seems to forget that they do not have the number to unilaterally pick the Senate President, we will work with patriotic APC Senators who are not comfortable with the shenanigans going on to choose a proper, popular Senator-elect as Senate President.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *