PDP Loses Control Of Plateau Assembly As Appeal Court Sacks 11 Lawmakers


Eleven Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmakers in the Plateau state assembly were on Friday, November 24, sacked by a court of appeal sitting in Abuja.


The panel led by Justice Okon Abang, held that all the sacked lawmakers scored wasted votes at the time of the March 2023 general election because their party lacked structure.

The panel noted that the PDP violated section 177 of the 1999 constitution, hence could not sponsor candidates in an election. All the second runners up in the March 18 elections were then declared winners.


The sacked lawmakers have been identified as Hon Timothy Dantong (Riyom), Hon. Rimyat Nanbol,- (Langtang North Central), Moses Sule (Mikang), Salome Waklek,-Pankshin, Hon. Bala Fwangji (Mangu South), Hon. Maren Ishaku (Bokkos), Hon. Dagogot (Quaanpan North), Nannim Langyi,-(Langtang North North), Nimchak Rims (Langtang South) Hon. Danjuma Azi (Jos North West) Gwottson Fom (Jos South) and Hon. Abubakar Sani idris (Mangu North).


Following the development, the All Progressives Congress now controls the assembly.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *