Tribunal Sacks LP Candidate, Declares APC’s Segun Winner Of Lagos Assembly Election


The Lagos State House of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal has declared Folorunso Olaitan Segun of the All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner of the state assembly election held in Amuwo-Odofin Constituency 1.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that while declaring the APC candidate as winner, sacked the Labour Party candidate, Foluke Osafile, who was declared winner of the March 2023 election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The tribunal sitting in GRA, Ikeja, ordered INEC to withdraw the Certificate of Return issued to Osafile and re-issue a fresh one to Hon Folorunso.

In affirming the victory of Hon Folorunso, the tribunal declared that Foluke Osafile of the Labour Party was not a valid candidate of the Labour Party in the election, consequently, all votes cast for the Labour Party are null and void.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *