‘Why Edo Is Prioritising Women’s Economic Empowerment’

Edo State governor’s wife Mrs. Betsy Obaseki has said the current administration is prioritising women’s economic empowerment and development, to enable them become more productive.

Mrs. Obaseki, the special guest of honour, spoke yesterday in Benin while opening a policy dialogue to reflect on women economic empowerment intervention and programming.

The programme was organised by Edo State Partnership for Advancing Women in Economic Development (PAWED) Advocacy Coalition.

It was supported by the development Research and Projects Centre (dRPC).

She said the government was ready to empower women.

The governor’s wife, represented by the Managing Director, EdoJOBS, Ukinebo Dare, noted that the Obaseki administration prioritised women’s empowerment through its interventions, targeted at improving women’s economic livelihood and development.

The Coordinator of PAWED Advocacy Coalition in Edo State, Mrs. Vivian Evbotokhai, said the Obaseki administration was taking the lead in investment in women’s economic empowerment.


She said the project was targeted at pushing for the state government to fulfil its commitment for women’s economic empowerment.

PAWED Advocacy Coalition’s Second Lead, Mrs. Bliss Ojeruse, said Women’s Economic Empowerment (WEE) had been recognised as a bridge to gender disparity across the globe.

Governor Godwin Obaseki has said the people will no longer subject themselves to any form of division, irrespective of party affiliation and religious background.

“Edo is one, irrespective of senatorial districts,’’ he said yesterday in Benin while swearing in newly-appointed permanent secretaries.

“We will not allow ourselves to be divided again; whether you are Edo South, Edo Central or Edo North, Edo is one.

“Some people just want to manipulate and try to create divisions where they don’t exist,’’ he said.

Responding on behalf of the permanent secretaries, one of them, Mr. Bernard Aigbe, thanked the governor for finding them worthy and promised that they would not fail in their duties.

The permanent secretaries are Iryn Omorogiuwa, Efosa Aisien, Nyamali Erumuse, Igbinomwanhia Abieyuwa, Imoihosen Oziegbe, Peter Osagie, Sabina Chikere, Osawemwenze Kayode-Iyasere and Bernard Aigbe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *