13 Northern States, 50 Communities Likely to Be Flooded – FG Issues Warning

The federal government through the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has warned that 13 states and 50 communities in the northern part of Nigeria are likely to be flooded between September 13 and 17 due to heavy rainfall.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that the affected states are Kano, Kebbi, Katsina, Niger, Kwara, Zamfara, Bauchi, Taraba, Borno, Adamawa, Yobe, Jigawa, and Gombe.

The communities that are most at risk include Sumaila and Kunchi in Kano State; Argungu in Kebbi State; Bindawa, Jibia, Kaita, and Katsina in Katsina State; Kontagora, Mashegu, and New Bussa in Niger State; Kosubosu in Kwara State; Kaura Namoda and Shinkafi in Zamfara State; Bajoga, Darazo, Kirfi, Azare, Jama’are, Itas, and Misau in Bauchi State; Bali, Donga, Lau, Serti, Mutum-Biyu, and Yorro in Taraba State; Briyel, Biu, Dikwa, and Kukawa in Borno State; Ganye, Mubi, Demsa, Jimeta, Mayo Belwa, Numan, Shelleng, and Song in Adamawa State; Dapchi, Gashua, Geidam, Kanamma, Machina, and Potiskum in Yobe State; Nafada in Gombe State; and Dutse, Gumel, Gwaram, and Miga in Jigawa State.

NEMA has advised residents of these communities to take precautionary measures, such as moving to higher ground, storing food and water, and securing their belongings.

The agency has also called on the federal and state governments to provide relief materials to the affected communities.

The warning comes as the water levels of the Rivers Benue and Niger are rising due to heavy rainfall. NEMA has advised communities along these rivers to take precautions as well.

The agency has acknowledged the National Flood Early Warning Systems’ (FEWS’) Central Hub of the Federal Ministry of Environment in Abuja for its predictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *